Lover of the Fancy

Early C20th American culture and dissent

Isaac Asimov


Winner of the Hugo Award for best all-time series, The Foundation series is Isaac Asimov’s iconic masterpiece. Unfolding against the backdrop of a crumbling Galactic Empire, the story of Hari Seldon’s two Foundations is a lasting testament to an extraordinary imagination, one that shaped science fiction as we know it today. The Galactic Empire has prospered for twelve thousand years.

Nobody suspects that the heart of the thriving Empire is rotten, until psychohistorian Hari Seldon uses his new science to foresee its terrible fate. Exiled to the desolate planet Terminus, Seldon establishes a colony of the greatest minds in the Empire, a Foundation which holds the key to changing the fate of the galaxy. However, the death throes of the Empire breed hostile new enemies, and the young Foundation’s fate will be threatened firstead them to a vast, catastrophic conspiracy and a revolution in the Three Laws of Robotics.

Paperback, 240pp
HarperCollins, 2016
ISBN 9780008117498