Lover of the Fancy

Early C20th American culture and dissent

Selected Stories
Sherwood Anderson


Beginning with his 1919 masterpiece, Winesburg, Ohio, Sherwood Anderson exercised an immense influence on American fiction writers. “Anderson was the father of all my works,” declared William Faulkner, “and those of Hemingway, Fitzgerald, etc… He showed us the way.” Written in a seemingly simple narrative style, Anderson’s slice-of-life stories often explored the loneliness and frustration of small-town life. This new collection draws from The Triumph of the Egg and Horses and Men to offer a choice selection of Anderson’s most characteristic work: ‘The Egg’, a parable of ambition, failure, and sacrifices made in pursuit of the American Dream; ‘Out of Nowhere into Nothing’, in which a young woman is trapped between two less-than-ideal choices; ‘I Want to Know Why’, a tale of innocence and coming of age; and other bleak, funny, and moving stories of restless individuals in search of a meaningful existence.

Paperback, 212pp
Dover Publications, 2020
ISBN 9780486836393


SHERWOOD ANDERSON (1876-1941) was an American businessman and writer of short stories and novels. Born in Ohio, Anderson was self-educated and became, by his early thirties, a successful salesman and business owner. Within a decade, however, Anderson suffered what was described as a nervous breakdown and fled his seemingly picture-perfect life for the city of Chicago, where he had lived for a time in his twenties. In doing so, he left behind a wife and three children, but embarked upon a writing career that would win him acclaim as one of the finest American writers of the early-twentieth century.