Lover of the Fancy

Early C20th American culture and dissent

The Awakening and Selected Stories
Kate Chopin


The Awakening (1899) is collected with the complete text of her two collections of short stories, Bayou Folk (1894) and A Night in Acadie (1897), and twelve uncollected tales. The Awakening is a strikingly modern, evocative story of self-discovery and female emancipation, set in the sensuous environment of Southern Louisiana, where the young Edna Pontellier reclaims her own individuality, refusing to be defined by her roles of wife and mother. Chopin’s stories are brilliantly observed, compassionate and often humorous, alert to the foibles, weaknesses and small triumphs of her character.

Paperback, 544pp
Wordsworth Editions, 2015 (1899)
ISBN 9781840225846