Lover of the Fancy

Early C20th American culture and dissent

The Collected Stories
Ernest Hemingway


Ernest Hemingway (1899-1961) is celebrated as a novelist and man of action. He is perhaps most famous For Whom the Bell Tolls and A Farewell to Arms. But he was equally prolific as a writer of short stories which touch on the same themes as the novels: war, love, the nature of heroism, reunciation, and the writer’s life. The present collection includes all Hemingway’s shorter fiction arranged chronologically from ‘Up in Michigan’ (1923) to ‘Old Man at the Bridge (1938).

Hardback, 788pp
Everyman’s Library, 1995
ISBN 9781857151879