Lover of the Fancy

Early C20th American culture and dissent

The Collected Stories
Katherine Anne Porter


This anthology compiles three books of her short fiction – Flowering Judas, Pale Horse, Pale Rider, and The Leaning Tower (as well as four stories not available elsewhere in book form) – into one National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize-winning volume. From the gothic Old South to revolutionary Mexico, few writers have evoked such a multitude of worlds, both exterior and interior, as powerfully as Katherine Anne Porter. This collection gathers together the best of her award-winning short stories, including ‘Pale Horse, Pale Rider’, where a young woman lies in a fever during the 1918 influenza epidemic, her childhood memories mingling with fears for her boyfriend on his way to war, and ‘Noon Wine’, a haunting story of tragedy and scandal on a small dairy farm in Texas.

When published first in 1966, this book was awarded a Pulitzer Prize.

Paperback, 512pp
Mariner Books, 1979 (1930, 1939, 1944)
ISBN 9780156188760