Lover of the Fancy

Early C20th American culture and dissent

The Short Stories of Langston Hughes


Langston Hughes was a prolific writer: the author of plays, poetry, novels, autobiography, and children’s tales. But it is in his short stories that readers see most clearly his greatest talents – his gift for humour and irony, his love for the vernacular, his brilliance in depicting character, and his profound perceptions about America.

This new collection of 47 stories, edited by Arnold Rampersad, written between 1919 and 1963, follows Hughes’s literary blossoming and the development of his political and personal concerns.

Paperback, 320pp
Hill & Wang, 1997
ISBN 9780809016037