Lover of the Fancy

Early C20th American culture and dissent

The Studs Terkel Reader: My American Century
Studs Terkel


Originally published under the title My American Century, this anthology collects the best interviews from eight of Terkel’s classic oral histories together with his magnificent introductions to each work. Featuring selections from American DreamsComing of AgeDivision StreetThe Good WarThe Great DivideHard TimesRace, and Working, this greatest hits volume is a treasury of Terkel’s most memorable subjects that will delight his many lifelong fans and provide a perfect introduction for those who have not yet experienced the joy of reading Studs Terkel.

It includes an introduction by Pulitzer Prize winner Robert Coles surveying Terkel’s overall body of work and a new foreword by Calvin Trillin.

Paperback, 562pp
New Press, 2007 (1997)
ISBN 9781595581778


STUDS TURKEL (1912-2008) was an award-winning author and radio broadcaster. He is the author of Race: How Blacks and Whites Think and Feel About the American ObsessionDivision Street: AmericaComing of Age: Growing Up in the Twentieth CenturyTalking to Myself: A Memoir of My TimesThe Good War: An Oral History of World War IIWorking: People Talk About What They Do All Day and How They Feel About What They DoThe Studs Terkel Reader: My American CenturyAmerican Dreams: Lost and FoundThe Studs Terkel Interviews: Film and TheaterHard Times: An Oral History of the Great DepressionWill the Circle Be Unbroken?: Reflections on Death, Rebirth, and Hunger for a FaithGiants of JazzHope Dies Last: Keeping the Faith in Troubled TimesAnd They All Sang: Adventures of an Eclectic Disc JockeyTouch and Go: A MemoirP.S.: Further Thoughts from a Lifetime of Listening; and Studs Terkel’s Chicago, all published by The New Press. He was a member of the Academy of Arts and Letters and a recipient of a Presidential National Humanities Medal, the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, a George Polk Career Award, and the National Book Critics Circle 2003 Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award.