Lover of the Fancy

Early C20th American culture and dissent

Where the Stress Falls
Susan Sontag


This book is divided into three sections: the first, ‘Reading’, includes ardent pieces on writers from Sontag’s own private canon – Machado de Assis, Barthes, W. G. Sebald, Borges, Tsvetaeva and Elizabeth Hardwick. In the second, ‘Seeing’, she shares her passions for film, dance, photography, painting, opera and theatre. And in the final section, ‘There and Here’, Sontag explores her own commitments to the work (and activism) of conscience and to the vocation of the writer.

Paperback, 368pp
Penguin Books, 2009 (2001)
ISBN 9780141190211